...... D'Angelico - Gibson - Fender - Comins - Martin - Heritage - D'Aquisto ......

 Victor Baker 18" Special
   

Seven String Guitar

 

Click to enlarge

Notes: Victor Baker began playing guitar in 1980 and finished his study in Berklee in the early 90's. During this time he earned money by playing local gigs and doing guitar repairs. In 1993, he studied with jazz legend Pat Martino and switched to playing jazz full time. He spend a great deal as a street musician and also as a leader / sideman in New York's jazz clubs and was part of the NYC JVC Jazz Festival in 1995. But in the late 1990's Vic returned to Philadelphia and expanded his passion: making highest level guitars. It did not take very long until his breakthrough in 2001. Meanwhile approx. 300 of his "World Class Custom Tailored Jazz Guitars" were produced and f.e. Gilad Hekselman is playing Victor Baker guitars. Since June 2015 he is making some reproductions of vintage era D'Angelico models for the D'Angelico company.

Materials: 17 7/8" wide and 3" deep body made of Master grade woods, with solid Spruce soundboard, highest grade flamed solid Maple back and sides, highest grade figured solid two-piece tiger flamed Maple neck with straight-end Ebony fretboard, 2" nut width, 25" scale length, 20 original frets, VB initials inlayed with mother of pearl, 3-ply body binding b/w and red perloid, 2-ply neck white and red perloid, bone nut, Ebony accents including bridge - tailpiece - pegs - pickguard - truss rod cover - heel cap - knobs and headstock front.

Hardware: Golden Grover tuning machines, handwound Kent Armstrong humbucker floating pickup, output jack at rim side, height adjustable slanted Ebony bridge, Ebony pickguard with flamed Maple art deco insert (attached at neck side).

Facts: Handbuilt in Philadelphia with the best Master grade woods possible, serial number 67 and dated Nov. 14th 2002. In a way, the carving on the outside near the edges of the soundboard and back plate recalls the tradition of the German Luthier Artur Lang from the 50's and 60's but here, the curves are more round and not so much pronounced. The guitar has a honey blonde amber finish and looks overwhelming.

Condition: This guitar is in 100% original condition with very, very little playing wear.

Playability: Action is low, buzz-free and comfy. The neck has a D profile with smooth medium jumbo frets.

Tone: Rich, warm and buttery, deep tone only the big bodies can produce. When plugged in, the guitar delivers a strong, powerful and yet clear tone, thanks to its handwound Kent Armstrong pickup.

Case: Original TKL hardshell case with blue velvet interior in fairly good condition. All latches, hinges and handle work fine.

Setup: The instrument is strung with a new set La Belle flatwound strings (.012-.052 and 056 for the 7th string) and the fingerboard and bridge has been oiled.

To Summarize: The 7-string classical guitar had been around since the late 1700s, but George Van Eps is credited with bringing it to the jazz arena. His 7-string guitar, built by Epiphone in 1938 had an added low A string. Today, even players from the rock scene like Steve Vai use 7-string guitars. Well, this archtop has convinced us with its Master grade woods, with a modest and non-overloaded Benedetto style art deco design, a characterfull sound and exquisite craftsmanship along with noble solutions in small details.
 















 Comins
 D'Angelico
 Fender
 Gibson
 Heritage
 Various
 Zubehör
 Amps
 Gallery
 Feedback  | Links  | zurück | home | Kontakt |

...... D'Angelico - Gibson - Fender - Comins - Martin - Heritage - D'Aquisto ......

 Victor Baker 18" Special
   

7-saitige Gitarre

 

Klick auf Bilder

Anmerkung: 1980 fing Victor Baker an Gitarre zu spielen und in den frühen 90er Jahren beendete er sein Studium in Berklee. Während dieser Zeit verdiente er sein Geld, indem er lokale Konzerte spielte und Gitarren reparierte. 1993 studierte er mit der Jazzlegende Pat Martino und widmete sich ganz dem Jazz. Er spielte viel als Straßenmusiker und trat auch als Front und Sideman in New York's Jazz-Clubs auf und war ein Teil des NYC JVC Jazz Festival im Jahr 1995. Ende der 90er Jahre ging er nach Philadelphia zurück und baute seine Leidenschaft aus: die Herstellung von edelsten Gitarren. Es dauerte nicht lange bis zu seinem Durchbruch im Jahr 2001. Mittlerweile wurden ca. 300 seiner "maßgeschneiderten weltklasse Jazz Gitarren" hergestellt und z.B. Gilad Hekselman spielt Gitarren von Victor Baker. Seit Juni 2015 arbeitet er für die Firma D'Angelico und stellt einige Replikate von originalen D'Angelico Modellen her.

Materialien: 45,4cm breiter und 7,6cm Korpus aus allerbesten Hölzern, mit massiver Decke aus Fichte, massiver Boden und Zargen aus extrem geflammtem Ahorn, ebenso stark geflammter zweiteiliger Ahorn Hals mit Griffbrett aus Ebenholz, Sattelbreite 5cm, 63,5cm Mensur, 20 original Bünde, "VB" Einlage aus Perlmutt an Kopfplatte, Korpuseinfassung 3-fach s/w und rötliches Perloid, 2-fach an Hals, Knochensattel, Ebenholz Akzente für Brücke - Saitenhalter - Wirbel - Schlagbrett - Abdeckung für Halsschraube - Halsfuß - Reglerknöpfe und Vorderseite von Kopfplatte.

Hardware: Goldene Grover Mechaniken, schwebender handgewickelter Kent Armstrong Tonabnehmer, Anschluss an der Zarge, Ebenholz Schlagbrett im Art-Deko Design mit geflammter Ahorn Einlage (am Hals befestigt)

Fakten: Handgemacht in Philadelphia mit den erlesensten Hölzern die man überhaupt kriegen kann. Die S/N ist 67 datiert am 14. Nov. 2002. In gewisser Weise erinnert die Form und Wölbung am Rand der Decke und des Bodens an die Gitarren von Artur Lang, sie ist jedoch nicht so betont und nicht so steil. Die Gitarre ist wunderschön honig-blond lackiert.

Zustand: Die Gitarre ist in 100% original Zustand und hat nur sehr, sehr wenig Spielspuren.

Bespielbarkeit: Saitenlage ist optimal und ohne Schnarren. Der Hals hat ein ausgeprägtes D Profil.

Ton: Reicher, warmer und sahnig tiefer Ton, welchen nur ein großer Korpus erzeugen kann. Eingestöpselt überzeugt sie dank des handgewickelten Kent Armstrong Tonabnehmers mit einem starken und kraftvoll klarem Ton mit üppiger Klangfarbe.

Koffer: Originaler TKL Koffer mit blauem Samt in gutem Zustand. Verschlüsse, Scharniere und Griff arbeiten bestens.

Setup: Die Gitarre ist mit einem neuen Satz La Belle bespannt (geschliffen .012-.052 und 0.56 für die 7.) Die Gitarre wurde gereinigt, das Griffbrett und die Brücke wurden geölt.

Zusammenfassung: Die 7-saitige klassische Gitarre gibt es schon seit dem 18. Jahrhundert, aber es war George Van Eps, der sie in die Jazz Szene eingebracht hat. Seine 7-saitige Gitarre, die von Epiphone 1938 gebaut wurde, hatte eine zusätzliche tiefe A-Saite. Heute setzen sogar Spieler aus dem Rock Bereich wie z.B. Steve Vai 7-saitige Gitarren ein. Nun, uns hat diese Archtop total überzeugt wegen den hochwertigsten Hölzern, einem Design mit nicht überladenen Benedetto Stil, einem ausgezeichneten Klang und einer Handwerkskunst auf allerhöchstem Niveau. Einfach einmalig...
 















 Comins
 D'Angelico
 Fender
 Gibson
 Heritage
 Various
 Zubehör
 Amps
 Gallery
 Feedback  | Links  | zurück | home | Kontakt |