...... D'Angelico - Gibson - Fender - Comins - Martin - Heritage - D'Aquisto ......

 Fender Stratocaster 1962 fiesta red
   

The Stratocaster

Click on Pictures

Notes: In its illustrious history of the Fender company, which reaches back to the year 1946, it has affected virtually every genre of music all over the world. The Stratocaster was first presented in 1954 and offered several innovations. Thanks to her third single-coil pickup, she enabled a greater variety of sounds and because of the contoured body she was more comfortable to play. The most important change however was the new Fender vibrato and the Fender Stratocaster became an instant design classic.

Materials: Alder body, Maple neck with Maple slabboard and D-profile, nut width a tad more than 1 10/16"

Hardware: Original parts include single line Kluson Deluxe, bridge and saddles, pickguard, pickups with wiring, CRL 3-way switch, pots and jack, and all plastic parts. The tremolo block looks to be of an earlier vintage probably '55 or '56 and the tremolo arm is a replica. Everything else appears to be vintage correct

Facts: The neck pu has 7,38K middle pu 7,21K bridge pu 7,03K. The neck stamp reads "2 MAR 62 B". As of March 1962, Fender started to stamp the necks and this is one of the first to bear a neck stamp. The neck has a factory original maple slabboard (not maple cap)! Fender offered Maple fingerboards from 1960 to 1968 on a special custom order basis (additional 5%). These were different than the 1950s one-piece maple necks. These used an actual slab maple fingerboard glued to the maple neck, and no "skunk stripe" down the back of the neck for the truss rod. The body has all the correct criteria for this vintage including four "nail holes" (no paint inside) and there is no clear laquer coating over the fiesta red. The number of the neck plate is 992xx which dates it to 1963. The potis from Stackpole are also from 1963, the code is 3046334. Apparently, the guitar was put together in 1963 with a neck from 1962. This is not unusual because the different parts have been produced in batches and were assembled when needed based on incoming orders. And, becaue of the additional 5% for Maple board necks maybe they didn't sell as much as expected and therefore the neck rested longer in stock. Also, it is not very uncommon to find an overlap between the years during the 60ties. F.e. Pre-CBS Fender neck plate serial numbers are definitively NOT chronological and it was more of a lottery. The point is, don't read too much into Fender serial numbers becasue the only true and definitive way to date a pre-CBS fender is to look at all the dates and facts of the instrument such as body date, neck date, pot dates, routings, hardware, finish etc. However, if you want to read more here is an interesting site with many facts and details: http://www.guitarhq.com/fender.html

Condition: Considering the age of 50+ years the guitar is in very good condition with normal wear. The original frets still have plenty of life left and will last for a long time. There are some scratches, abrasions and worn-off spots on the body as to be expected. The original pickguard has a typical crack nearby one screw. The original Fender logo on the headstock is still clearly legible, but it is a little bit worn here and there.

Playability: Most likely, you would not wanna let go out of your hands, she is comfortable like a glove with lots of vibes and mojo

Tone: This Stratocaster sounds just like a good old Stratocaster should sound ballsy and clear like a bell and if you like Maple necks you will recover expenses because she is worth every nickel and dime

Case: Rectangular case with yellow/orange plush inside. Latches, hinges and handle work perfect

Setup: Currently strung with .010-.046 Nickel round wound strings. The frets have been dressed, crowned and polished

To Summarize: So what we have here is a very rare find of a Fender Stratocaster that has certainly not been laying underneath the sofa for the past 50+ years. The thing that makes her so peculiar and special is her Maple neck with a Maple slabboard. This is an original '62 Fender Stratocaster with a colorful history, saturated with vintage panache and personality that sounds like honey and plays like butter. This Stratocaster will be the crowning possession of any player or collector





















 Comins
 D'Angelico
 Fender
 Gibson
 Heritage
 Various
 Zubehör
 Amps
 Gallery
 Feedback  | Links  | zurück | home | Kontakt |

...... D'Angelico - Gibson - Fender - Comins - Martin - Heritage - D'Aquisto ......

 Fender Stratocaster 1962 fiesta red
   

Die Stratocaster

Klick auf Bilder

Anmerkungen: In seiner illustren und bis ins Jahr 1946 zurück reichenden Unternehmensgeschichte hat Fender auf der ganzen Welt und in nahezu jedem Genre die Musik beeinflusst. Die Stratocaster wurde erstmals 1954 präsentiert und bot diverse Innovationen. Dank ihres dritten Single-Coil-Tonabnehmer ermöglichte sie eine größere Klangvielfalt und wegen des angenehm geformten Korpus war sie bequemer zu spielen. Die wichtigste Neuerung jedoch war das neue Fender Vibrato und die Fender Stratocaster wurde umgehend zum Design Klassiker

Materialien: Erle Korpus, Ahorn Hals mit Ahorn Griffbrett (slabboard), Sattelbreite 42mm

Hardware: Bis auf den Tremolo Hebel komplett original einschliesslich single line Kluson Deluxe Tuner, Brücke und Saitenreiter, Schlagbrett, Tonabnehmer mit Verdrahtung, CRL 3-Wege Schalter, Potis und Buchse, und sämtliche Plastikteile etc. Der Tremolo Block ist vermutlich von 1955 oder 1956

Fakten: Der Halstonabnehmer hat 7,38K der mittlere 7,21K und der an der Brücke 7,03K. Der Halsstempel lautet "2 MAR 62 B". Ab März 1962 hat Fender damit begonnen den Hals mit einem Stempel zu versehen und diese ist eine der ersten mit Stempel. Der Hals hat ein von Fender werkseitig verbautes Ahorn Griffbrett (kein Maple cap sondern ein Maple slab board!). Ahorn Griffbretter gab es bei Fender von 1960 bis 1968 auf Sonderbestellung mit 5% Aufpreis. Der Korpus weist für dieses Baujahr alle korrekten Merkmale auf inkl. der vier "nail holes" (ohne Farbe innen) und das Fiesta Rot hat keinen Klarlack darüber. Die Nummer der Halsplatte ist 992XX und stammt von Anfang 1963. Die Potis haben den Code 3046334 und sind somit von der Firma Stackpole aus der 34. Woche 1963. Die Gitarre ist also im Jahr 1963 mit einem Hals von 1962 bestückt worden, die roten Lackspuren am Halsende sind diesbezüglich eindeutig. Dies ist nicht ungewöhlich, weil damals die verschiedenen Teile auf Vorrat produziert wurden, um dann bei Bestellung verarbeitet zu werden. Und, da bei Hälsen mit Ahorn Griffbrett ein Aufpreis verlangt wurde, lag dieser Hals wohl länger auf Lager. Ohnehin ist es bei pre-CBS Serien Nummern so, dass die Nummern nicht chronologisch geordnet vergeben wurden und der einzig wahre Weg eine pre-CBS Fender Gitarre zu datieren besteht darin alle Daten und Fakten in Betracht zu ziehen, nicht nur die Serien Nummer. Wer mehr lesen möchte, dem sei diese sehr ausführliche site empfohlen:
http://www.guitarhq.com/fender.html

Zustand: Diese Stratocaster ist in sehr gutem Zustand für ihr stolzes Alter von 50+ Jahren. Die original Bünde haben noch viel Material und werden noch lange halten. Der Lack hat am Korpus normale Abnützungen wie Kratzer und abgewetzte Stellen. Das originale Schlagbrett ist typischerweise bei einer Schraube eingerissen. Der original Fender Schriftzug an der Kopfplatte ist deutlich leserlich, aber an manchen Stellen leicht verblasst

Bespielbarkeit: Diesen Hals möchte man am Liebsten nicht mehr aus der Hand geben, so angenehm liegt er in der Hand

Ton: Diese Strat klingt wie eine gute Strat eben klingen soll, sehr glockig und für eine Maple Neck Strat rund und voll mit dem richtigen Attack. Wer Ahorn Hälse mag kommt hier voll auf seine Kosten

Koffer: Rechteck Koffer mit gelbem / orangenem Innen-Plüsch. Verschlüsse, Scharniere und Griff funktionieren einwandfrei

Setup: Die Gitarre ist derzeit mit .010-.046 Saiten bespannt und optimal eingestellt.

Zusammenfassung: Diese Gitarre ist sicherlich keine Stratocaster, welche über 50 Jahre unter dem Sofa gelegen hat. Das Besondere und extrem Seltene an ihr ist jedoch der Ahorn Hals mit einem Maple slab board und die Experten sind sich einig - dies ist eine original Fender Stratocaster von 1962 mit einer bewegten Vergangenheit und fantastischem Klang, welche sich traumhaft spielen lässt. Eine Bereicherung für jeden Spieler oder Sammler





















 Comins
 D'Angelico
 Fender
 Gibson
 Heritage
 Various
 Zubehör
 Amps
 Gallery
 Feedback  | Links  | zurück | home | Kontakt |