...... D'Angelico - Gibson - Fender - Comins - Martin - Heritage - D'Aquisto ......

 Gibson Les Paul Standard
   

The Classic Electric Guitar

 

Click on pictures

Notes: Les Paul was born 9th of June 1915 in Wisconsin as Lester William Polsfuss, later the family simplified the name to Polfus. At the age of eight years he started with the harmonica. His next instrument was the banjo and at the age of 13 he already performed as a country guitarist. At the same time he was interested in electronics. Dissatisfied with the quality of electric guitars that were available in the mid 30ties he started to develop his own instruments. In 1941 he built the prototype of a solidbody electric guitar but it took until the beginning of the 1950s when the cooperation with Gibson started. The first Les Paul came out in 1952. During the following years several improvements have been made and in the beginning of 1957 P-90 pickups were replaced with the new PAF humbucker making the Les Paul Standard to what it is now: The most popular electric guitar of all time.

Materials: One-piece solid Mahogany body with highly flamed center seamed Maple top, one-piece Mahogany neck, Rosewood fretboard with small black side dot markers, nut width approx. 1 11/16", 22 frets, trapezoid position inlays.

Hardware: Golden hardware consisting of tune-o-matic bridge, stop bar and golden Gibson Deluxe tuner, two active EMG pickups, toggle switch, 2 volume / 2 tone pots.

Facts: Manufactured in Nashville 1984, stamped "Made in USA" no volute. It features a narrow ’59 style binding inside the cutaway. The top shows breathtaking flames and has an amber / caramel color. The pickguard has been taken off so that the beauty of the top can unfold completely. The guitar weighs in at 3,9 kg.

Condition: The guitar is in good condition. The frets have been renewed at some point and they have only very little wear. The original pickups have been replaced with active EMG's. Many players of that time made this upgrade (or with Seymour Duncan pickups) because they were not satisfied with the Gibson pickups from that vintage. The mate finish is giving her a pleasant feel and a great appearance.

Playability: Buzz-free low string heigth. The neck is straight as an arrow and easy to play throughout.

Tone: The EMG pickups deliver a strong and powerful sound that cuts through but still being clear and open with cristal highs and strong bass.

Case: Newer original Gibson case with pink plush.

Setup: Currently set up with 0.10 - 0.46 strings.

To summarize: Les Paul's genius brought us technical inventions such as the multi-tracking, overdubbing and tape-delay to name a few but the development of the Les Paul guitar was probably his greatest gift. What more can be said about such a classic guitar that has dominated the music scene since more than 60 years except one thing: Every guitar player knows and plays it. In all, this Les Paul Standard is 32 years old and is certainly a great player's instrument
 















 Comins
 D'Angelico
 Fender
 Gibson
 Heritage
 Various
 Zubehör
 Amps
 Gallery
 Feedback  | Links  | zurück | home | Kontakt |

...... D'Angelico - Gibson - Fender - Comins - Martin - Heritage - D'Aquisto ......

 Gibson Les Paul Standard
   

Der Klassiker

 

Klick auf Bilder

Anmerkung: Les Paul wurde am 9. Juni 1915 in Wisconsin als Lester William Polsfuss geboren, später vereinfachte die Familie den Namen zu Polfus. Im Alter von acht Jahren fing er mit der Mundharmonika an. Sein nächstes Instrument war das Banjo und bereits mit 13 trat er als Country Gitarrist auf. Gleichzeitig betätigte sich Les Paul als Elektronikbastler. Unzufrieden mit der Qualität elektrischer Gitarren, wie sie Mitte der 1930er Jahre erhältlich waren, begann Les Paul eigene Instrumente zu entwerfen. 1941 baute Les Paul den Prototyp einer Solidbody E-Gitarre aber erst Anfang der 1950er Jahre kam es zur Zusammenarbeit mit der Fa. Gibson. 1952 wurde dann die erste Les Paul hergestellt. In den folgenden Jahren wurden verschiedenste Verbesserungen gemacht bis Anfang 1957 die P-90 Tonabnehmer gegen die neuen Humbucker ersetzt wurden und die Les Paul Standard zu dem machte, was sie heute ist: Die populärste Elektro-Gitarre aller Zeiten.

Materialien: Einteiliger massiver Mahagoni Korpus mit stark geflammter und mittig verleimter Decke aus Ahorn, einteiliger Mahagoni Hals, Palisander Griffbrett mit kleinen schwarzen Punkt-Positionsmarken, Sattelbreite ca. 43mm, 22 Bünde, trapezförmigen Positionseinlagen.

Hardware: Goldene Hardware bestehend aus tune-o-matic Brücke, stop bar Saitenhalter und goldenen Tuner mit Gibson Deluxe Aufschrift, aktive EMG Tonabnehmer

Fakten: Hergestellt im Jahr 1984. Das cutaway ist mit einem schmalen binding im '59 Stil versehen. Die Decke ist atemberaubend geflammt und hat eine Bernstein / Karamel Farbe. Das Schlagbrett wurde entfernt, damit die Optik der Decke voll zur Geltung kommt. Gewicht ist 3,9 kg.

Zustand: Die Gitarre befindet sich in einem guten Zustand. Die Bünde wurden mal professionell erneuert und haben wenig Abnutzung. Die original Pickups wurden gegen aktive EMG's aufgewertet. Viele Spieler haben umgerüstet, weil sie mit den Gibson Tonabnehmer in diesen Jahren nicht zufrieden waren und oft wurden auch Seymour Duncan verwendet. Der matte Lack verleiht ihr ein samtiges Spielgefühl und eine tolle Optik.

Spielbarkeit: Die Saitenlage ist niedrig ohne Schnarren eingestellt. Der Hals ist kerzengerade und lässt sich mühelos spielen.

Ton: Die EMG Tonabnehmer liefern einen kraftvollen Ton mit klaren, offenen Höhen und starken Bässen.

Koffer: Neuer original Gibson Koffer mit rosa Plüsch.

Setup: Derzeit mit 0.10 - 0.46 Saiten bespannt.

Zusammenfassung: Les Pauls Genie bescherte uns technische Erfindungen wie z.B. das multi-tracking, overdubbing und tape-delay um nur ein paar zu nennen. Doch das größte Geschenk an uns war wohl die Entwicklung der Les Paul Gitarre. Was also kann man über einen solchen Klassiker, der seit über 60 Jahren die Musikszene geprägt hat noch sagen ausser vielleicht: Jeder Gitarrist kennt sie und fast jeder spielt sie
 















 Comins
 D'Angelico
 Fender
 Gibson
 Heritage
 Various
 Zubehör
 Amps
 Gallery
 Feedback  | Links  | zurück | home | Kontakt |