...... D'Angelico - Gibson - Fender - Comins - Martin - Heritage - D'Aquisto ......

 Gibson Le Grand
   

Chablis Grand Cru

click on images

Notes: Shortly after the endorsement and cooperation between Johnny Smith and Gibson the decision was made to produce a new, modern version based on the Johnny Smith model without bearing the dedicated signature name. Starting in 1993 the Le Grand made its debut and since then it was part of Gibson's Custom, Art & Historic Collection. Since 2010 the model is no longer listed on the Gibson website and the Le Grand is rarely offered.

Materials: 17" wide and 3" deep body with handcarved, fine grained solid select Sitka Spruce top, highly figured solid five-piece flamed Maple neck, highly flamed tiger striped solid Maple back and sides, straight-end Ebony fretboard, nut width 1 11/16", scale lenghth 25 1/2" and 14/20 frets, Pearl and Abalone position markers, split diamond peghead inlay on front and backside, 7-ply body binding, 5-ply neck, head and pickguard binding, triple bound f-holes, polished bone nut, solid Ebony bridge, bridge base plate with Abalone tie inlays.

Hardware: Gold-plated finger-style jazz tailpiece with 6 individual fine tuner, "Le Grand" engraved truss rod cover, quintuple-bound mottled pickguard with ebony volume knob, input jack / strap button combination at the rim side, BJB pickup mounted on pickguard, Schaller M6 tuners with Gibson name on it.

Facts: Basically the Le Grand has a thinner L-5 body with cross bracing. Only minor modifications have been made compared to the Johnny Smith model and the most obvious difference is the fancier finger-style tailpiece. Just as its predecessor, it also features a graceful Venetian cutaway and a Super 400 neck. The serial number 91348XXX on the oval orange label dates it to 1998 and it was built in Nashville. The finish is called "Chablis" and it enhances its very deep 3D flames. Chablis and translucent amber were only offered between 1993 and 1999 and after that they were discontinued.

Condition: The guitar is in very good condition and well maintained. The frets are original with very little play wear. The finish over the white binding has already yellowed giving the guitar a very attractive overall look. Everything is original to the guitar and the gold-plating is shiny like on its first day. This is an issue-free example of the finest archtops available in the very rare Chablis finish and truly a sight to behold.

Playability: The peghead design results in a remarkably well-balanced instrument. Action is low with no buzz and the neck profile is the comfty rounded C. The neck is straight and plays without any effort.

Tone: Acoustically the Le Grand has a fast response with unbelievable lush and sophisticated tone. Plugged in, the BJB floating pickup with gold cover mounted to the pickguard produces a smooth, mellow tone without feedback. The voice is open and very clear, with lots of treble and a strong bass. Just listen for yourself to the song file on the right side below

Case: Original Gibson hardshell case with genuine leather exterior in very good condition. All latches and hinges work fine.

Setup: This instrument is strung with medium gauge flatwound strings (.012-.054). The guitar will accommodate heavier or lighter gauge strings, according to your preference. The entire guitar is inspected, fingerboard oiled, hand polished, bridge intonation and string height adjusted.

To Summarize: There are four classes of quality for the Chablis wines and the lowest level is Petit Chablis followed by AOC Chablis with the biggest portion of production. The third level is for the Chablis Premier Cru which has much more flavor and taste than the average Chablis wines. The highest level is for the Chablis Grand Cru and it should be stored between 8-15 years so that it can unfold its full taste and quality. In our opinion there is no doubt, this Gibson Le Grand belongs to the fourth category and as it is more than 15 years old it can be served immediately. If you got the jazz then you will enjoy it right away, no excuses! Seriously speaking, the Le Grand is a top-of-the-line model from the manufacturer who invented the archtop guitar almost one century ago: The Gibson Company




















 Comins
 D'Angelico
 Fender
 Gibson
 Heritage
 Various
 Zubehör
 Amps
 Gallery
 Feedback  | Links  | zurück | home | Kontakt |

...... D'Angelico - Gibson - Fender - Comins - Martin - Heritage - D'Aquisto ......

 Gibson Le Grand
   

Chablis Grand Cru

Bilder darunter anklicken

Anmerkung: Kurz nach Ablauf der Kooperation zwischen Johnny Smith und Gibson wurde eine neue, moderne Version auf Grundlage des Johnny Smith Modells erarbeitet, dem man einen neuen Namen gab. Seit 1993, als die Le Grand ihren Einstand gab, war sie seither ein Teil der Gibson Custom, Art & Historic Collection. Seit 2010 wird das Modell nicht mehr auf der Gibson homepage gelistet und sie wird nur sehr selten zum Kauf angeboten.

Materialien: 17" breit und 3" tiefer von Hand gemachter Korpus, eng gemaserte massive Sitka Fichtendecke, massiver stark geflammter Ahorn an Boden und Zargen, fünf-teiliger Hals aus geflammtem Ahorn, Ebenholzgriffbrett mit geradem Ende, Sattelbreite ca. 43mm, Mensur Länge ca. 64,7mm, 14/20 Bünde, Perlmutt und Abalone Positionseinlagen, geteilte Diamant Einlage an Kopfplatte, Knochen Sattel, massive Ebenholz Brücke, Unterteil mit Schleifen Einlage aus Abalone, mehrfach Einfassung an F-Löcher, Korpus, Hals, Kopf und Schlagbrett.

Hardware: Mit goldenem Finger-Stil Saitenhalter mit individuellen Feinstimmer, "Le Grand" Abdeckung, Schlagbrett aus Schildpatt mit Ebenholz Regler und einem montiertem BJB Tonabnehmer, Anschluss am Gurthalter, Schaller M6 Mechaniken mit Gibson Bezeichnung.

Fakten: Die Le Grand hat einen dünneren L-5 Korpus mit Kreuz Verbalkung unter der Decke. Nur geringe Veränderungen wurden im Vergleich zur Johnny Smith gemacht und der auffälligste Unterschied ist der luxeriöse Saitenhalter. Wie schon beim Vorgänger Modell hat auch hier der Korpus einen runden Ausschnitt und einen Super 400 Hals. Die Serien Nummer 91348XXX auf dem orangenen Label datiert sie auf 1998 und sie wurde in Nashville gebaut. Die Lackierung nennt sich "Chablis" welche die beindruckende 3-D Maserung verstärkt zum Ausdruck bringt. Chablis und translucent amber wurde nur von 1993 bis 1999 angeboten und danach eingestellt und ist somit ziemlich rar.

Zustand: Die Gitarre ist in einem sehr gepflegten Gesamtzustand. Alles ist original und funktioniert einwandfrei. Dies ist ein einwandfreies Beispiel einer der gehobensten Archtops in der sehr seltenen Farbe Chablis, sicherlich ein Anblick den man nicht aus den Augen verlieren möchte.

Bespielbarkeit: Bei der Konstruktion wurde die Kopfplatte so gestaltet, dass das Gewicht der Gitarre sehr ausbalanciert ist. Über das gesamte Griffbrett gibt es kein Schnarren oder irgendwelche schwache Stellen. Das Halsprofil entspricht einem angenehmen C und das Griffbrett lässt sich butterweich spielen.

Ton: Trocken angespielt besticht die Le Grand durch eine schnelle Ansprache mit einem unglaublich üppigem und kultiviertem Klang. Verstärkt erzeugt der vergoldete BJB Tonabnehmer einen glatten und gereiften Ton ohne Rückkopplung. Der Klang ist offen und sehr klar mit ausgeprägten Höhen und Bässen.

Koffer: Mit original Koffer (echtes Leder aussen) in sehr gutem Zustand. Alle Verschlüsse und Scharniere funktionieren einwandfrei.

Setup: Die Gitarre ist derzeit mit ungeschliffenen Saiten bespannt (.012-.054). Sie verträgt stärkere oder schwächere Saitenstärken, je nach bevorzugter Wahl. Sie wurde komplett getestet, die Intonation überprüft und eingestellt.

Zusammenfassung: Es gibt vier Qualitätsstufen für Chablis Weine und die erste ist der Chablis Petit gefolgt von AOC Chablis mit der größten Produktion. Die dritte Stufe ist der Chablis Premier Cru mit einer viel feineren Note als der durchnittliche Chablis. Die höchste Stufe ist für den Chablis Grand Cru und er sollte vor dem Genuss 8-15 Jahre gelagert werden, um seine vollen Aromen zu entfalten. Wir meinen diese Le Grand gehört zu dieser vierten Kategorie und weil sie schon über 15 Jahre alt ist kann man sie sofort geniessen. Wer's drauf hat kommt hier voll auf seine Kosten, keine Ausreden! So, nun aber mal ernsthaft, die Le Grand ist ein absolut spitzenmäßiges Instrument des Herstellers, der die Archtop Gitarren vor fast 100 Jahren erfunden hat: Gibson





















 Comins
 D'Angelico
 Fender
 Gibson
 Heritage
 Various
 Zubehör
 Amps
 Gallery
 Feedback  | Links  | zurück | home | Kontakt |