...... D'Angelico - Gibson - Fender - Comins - Martin - Heritage - D'Aquisto ......

 Gibson L-5CT George Gobel
   

L-5C Thinline

Click on pictures below

Notes: The L-5CT is a variant of the venerable L-5 with a thinline body and cutaway, and was originally designed for comedian and actor George Gobel. The comedian used a Super 400 for many years but wanted a thinline, short-scale guitar to fit his somewhat small and short-armed body, and the CT design was Gibson's answer. In 1958, the first L-5CT (s/n A-27318) was a "one-off" built expressively for George Gobel. It was presented to him by Ernie Ford on Gobel's own show. The prototype had the standard L-5 scale of 25 1/2" but later production models from 1959 to 1962 had the 24 3/4" scale length and a total of only 44 instruments were produced during this period. Another unique feature of this model is the bright cherry red finish to make it show up better on stage and tv, and it was the first use of that color. Although the L-5CT was never officially designated as the George Gobel model it is nowadays commonly referred to as such.

Materials: 17" wide 2 7/16" deep body with handcarved fine grained X-braced solid spruce top, highly flamed solid maple back and sides, highly figured tiger flamed maple neck with two streamers made from high-grade walnut, pointed-end ebony fretboard with 25 1/2" full scale length, nut width 1 11/16", 14/20 frets, pearl block position markers, flower pot peghead inlay, multi-ply white / black binding, bound f-holes, solid ebony bridge base with pearl tie inlays.

Hardware: Factory eqipped golden Johnny Smith floating pickup with adjustable pole pieces, tone / volume pots mounted on quintuple-bound pickguard, tailpiece with L-5 model name engraved, ABR-1 bridge, "CUSTOM L-5" engraved truss rod cover, Schaller M6 tuners, output jack / strap button combination.

Facts: Made 2001 in Nashville in a beautiful cherry red finish. One label is signed by James Hutchins, a long-time employee who has been working for Gibson more than four decades. The instrument's orange label tells us that it is named the L-5CT Acoustic and not just L5-CT. She has been factory equipped with a Johnny Smith floating pu. There are no drillings or routings into the top for pots, an acoustic advantage compared to the electric version L-5CEST. Gibson Certificate included.

Condition: The guitar has only very light playing wear and the frets are as new. The entire guitar is completely original including the unfaded beautiful cherry red finish. The tuners work smooth and perfectly.

Playability: Action is low on the Gibson's traditional ES-rounded neck profile, not too thick nor too skinny and it feels like an unpronounced C-shaped profile. The neck is buzz-free, straight and it plays effortless. It just feels like a glove. The approx. one inch decreased body depth makes it so easy to embrace her.

Tone: Unplugged it is astonishing loud for its body depth and the tone is very clear and perfectly balanced. Plugged in, the single floating humbucker is capable of all the jazzy tone desired. IMO, this L-5CT acoustic is one of the best sounding L-5 and she deserves the additinal name acoustic.

Case: Original Gibson Custom Shop hardshell case with red crushed velvet interior in very good condition. All latches and hinges work fine.

Setup: This instrument is strung with roundwound strings (.012-.054).

To Summarize: It is unknown whether George Gobel's L-5CT has inspired him to do some yodeling like Skyball Paint but we know that he had roots from the Austrian Empire as his father emigrated from there around 1890. So he may also have inherited this talent. What we can say for sure is that this L-5CT not only has all the classy look and high-grade appointments of her full bodied sisters and also the full jazz tone we are looking for in a great archtop guitar. But we can not garantee that the new owner of this beauty will be yodeling when playing her as not everyone has such a talent as the lonesome George



Gerge Gobel's 1958 L-5CT














 Comins
 D'Angelico
 Fender
 Gibson
 Heritage
 Various
 Zubehör
 Amps
 Gallery
 Feedback  | Links  | zurück | home | Kontakt |

...... D'Angelico - Gibson - Fender - Comins - Martin - Heritage - D'Aquisto ......

 Gibson L-5CT George Gobel
   

L-5C Thinline

Klick auf Bilder

Anmerkungen: Die L-5CT ist eine Variante der ehrwürdigen L-5C mit dünnerem Korpus, welche ursprünglich für den Komiker und Schauspieler George Gobel entworfen wurde. Viele Jahre spielte er eine Super 400, aber er wollte eine schlankere Gitarre mit kürzerer Mensur, welche besser zu seiner kleinen Statur mit seinen kurzen Armen passte und der Entwurf der L-5CT war Gibson's Antwort darauf. 1958 wurde die erste L-5CT (s/n A-27318) ausdrücklich für George Gobel gebaut. Sie wurde ihm von Ernie Ford bei Gobel's eigener Show überreicht. Der Prototyp hatte die Norm Mensur einer L-5 (64,8cm) aber nachfolgende L-5CT aus der Produktion von 1959 bis 1962 hatten die etwas kürzere Mensur von 63cm und nur 44 Stück wurden in diesem Zeitraum produziert. Eine weitere Besonderheit dieses Modell ist das helle Kirschrot das erstmals verwendet wurde, denn es hat sich in den Tagen des S/W Fernsehens und auf der Bühne besser abgehoben. Obwohl die L-5CT nie offiziell als das George Gobel Modell benannt wurde, wird sie heutzutage üblicherweise so genannt.

Materialien: 17" breiter und ca. 6,2cm tiefer Korpus mit handgemachter, massiver Decke aus Fichte, stark geflammter, massiver Boden und Zargen aus geflammtem Ahorn, fünfteiliger Ahorn Hals mit zwei Streifen aus Walnussholz, spitz zulaufendes Ebenholz Griffbrett mit Block Positionseinlagen, volle 64,8cm Mensur, Sattelbreite 43mm, 14/20 Bünde, Perlmutt Vase an Kopfplatte, mehrfach Einfassung schwarz/weiss, massive Ebenholz Brückenunterteil mit Perlmutt Einlagen.

Hardware: Werksseitig angebrachter goldener Johnny Smith Tonabnehmer mit verstellbaren Pol-Schrauben, Ton / Lautstärke Regler auf mehrfach gebundenes Schlagbrett montiert, Saitenhalter mit L-5 Namen graviert, ABR-1 Brücke, "CUSTOM L-5" gravierte Abdeckung, Schaller M6 Mechaniken, Kabelanschluss im unteren Gurtknopf.

Fakten: Hergestellt 2001 in Nashville in einem sehr schönen Kirschrot. Ein Label ist signiert von James Hutchins, einem Veteran mit über 40 Jahren Erfahrung bei Gibson. Auf dem anderen orange Label im Korpus Inneren steht, dass es sich um eine L-5CT Akustik handelt, im Gegensatz zur normalen L-5CT. Sie wurde werkseitig mit einem floating Johnny Smith Tonabnehmer versehen. Dadurch hat sie keine Bohrungen und Ausfräsungen in der Decke für Tonabnehmer und Regler, ein Vorteil gegenüber der elektrischen L-5CEST. Das Zertifikat von Gibson befindet sich im Koffer.

Zustand: Es gibt nur geringe Spielspuren und die Bünde sind wie neu. Alles an der Gitarre ist komplett original inklusive dem leuchtendem kirschrotem Lack. Die Mechaniken arbeiten sauber und leicht.

Bespielbarkeit: Sie hat eine niedrige Saitenlage auf dem typisch traditionellem ES Halsprofil, welches eben nicht zu dick und nicht zu dünn ist und entspricht einem leichten C-Profil. Der kerzengerade Hals spielt sich mühelos und fühlt sich einfach klasse an. Die um ca. 2cm verringerte Korpustiefe macht es einem leicht sie zu umarmen.

Ton: Unverstärkt ist sie erstaunlich laut für die Korpustiefe und der Ton ist sehr klar und perfekt ausbalanciert. Verstärkt macht der schwebende Humbucker Tonabnehmer eine gute Figur und lässt im Jazz Bereich keine Wünsche offen. Dies ist definitiv eine der best klingendsten L-5 und verdient den Zusatz "Akustik".

Koffer: Original Gibson Custom Shop Koffer mit rotem Interieur in sehr gutem Zustand. Alle Verchlüsse und Scharniere sind einwandfrei.

Setup: Die Gitarre hat z.Zt. ungeschliffene Saiten (.012-.054).

Zusammenfassung: Es ist nicht bekannt, ob George Gobel's L-5CT ihn zum Jodeln inspiriert hat wie einst in Skyball Paint, aber wir wissen, dass er Wurzeln aus dem Königreich Österreich hatte, da sein Vater von dort um 1890 nach USA ausgewandert ist. Somit könnte er das Talent auch geerbt haben. Wir können aber mit Sicherheit sagen, dass diese L-5CT acoustic nicht nur das spitzenmäßige Aussehen und die hochwertigen Ausstattungen sowie den satten und ausgewogenen Ton ihrer Vollresonanz Schwestern hat, den wir bei einer großartigen Archtop suchen. Allerdings können wir nicht garantieren, dass der neue Besitzer beim Spielen zu Jodeln anfängt, denn nicht jeder hat so ein Talent wie der "Lonesome George" wie er sich selbst nannte.



Gerge Gobel's 1958 L-5CT
















 Comins
 D'Angelico
 Fender
 Gibson
 Heritage
 Various
 Zubehör
 Amps
 Gallery
 Feedback  | Links  | zurück | home | Kontakt |