...... D'Angelico - Gibson - Fender - Comins - Martin - Heritage - D'Aquisto ......

 Gibson Johnny Smith
   

25th Anniversary

Click on pictures

Notes: In 1961 Ted McCarty, CEO of Gibson at that time, visited Johnny Smith and offered him to design his own model. Johnny Smith was responsible for the entire construction and design including all the measurements and the curvature of the top and even the binding was decided by him. While some of his innovations were revolutionary, some have been evolutionary. Smith introduced a 25" scale to facilitate difficult chords without sacrificing a fast response and the depth of the body was reduced to 3". Also, it was the first guitar fitted with a floating mini humbucker pickup. The visual appointments were drawn from Gibson's L-5C for the 17" Venetian cutaway body and from the Super 400 the neck and peghead was adopted. For the 25th year of production Gibson slightly revised the model and they made only very few as an anniversary model. The most important changes are a special 6-finger tailpiece with individual fine tuners and a changed cable connector position which is combined with the strap button

Materials: 17" X 3" body with a hand-carved, tap-tuned solid spruce top, highly flamed maple neck, back and sides made of solid maple, ebony fingerboard and 14 / 20 frets, saddle width 1 11/16", scale 25", MOP inlays on the fingerboard and split diamond inlays on headstock, "25th Anniversary" MOP inlay on the 19th fret, 7-ply binding for body, 5-ply for neck and pickguard, 3-ply on headstock, single-ply binding on f-holes, bone nut, ebony bridge with MOP inlay on base plate

Hardware: Original Johnny Smith floating humbucker with an input jack - strap button combination, volume pot pickguard mounted, "Custom" truss rod cover, original Kluson Sealfast tuner, 6-finger tailpiece with fine-tuner

Facts: The serial number 80696xxx on the Master Model Label dates it to 1986. The guitar was built in Nashville, TN and only very few were made at all. This 25th Anniversary Johnny Smith guitar was signed by Master James W. Hutchins on 4 April 1986, who was a long-time employee of Gibson since the 60ties. He held the flickering torch in hard times of the company after the shut down of the Kalamazoo plant. "Hutch" also became the key figure when Gibson established the Custom Shop as a division in 1993

Condition: The guitar is completely original. The tobacco sunburst finish is still in very good condition after three decades. The frets have very little wear. The golden hardware is still shiny. The tuners work accurately and smooth

Playability: The strings are set quite low without string buzz. The neck feels great and plays like butter, the profile is a slight D

Tone: Rich, warm and balanced clear sound with very fast response. Pure jazz tone

Case: Original Gibson luxury hardshell case with genuine leather and green plush lining in top condition. All latches, handle and hinges work perfectly

Setup: Currently strung with wound Thomastik strings (.012-054). The entire guitar has been inspected and fretboard oiled.

To Summarize: 55 years ago, the Gibson Johnny Smith was introduced and this 25th anniversary edition is a historically significant guitar because it was made at a time when the Gibson company reached a turning point. In January 1986, Gibson was sold from Norlin to three enthusiasts Henry Juszkiewicz, David Berryman and Gary Zebrowski. The reputation of Gibson had been badly hurt during the Norlin era (late 1969 - 1986). Therefore, the year 1986 was very important in Gibson's long history and only through a recall and return to traditional standards of quality and the use of best tone woods, it was not only possible to gain back the confidence of customers but also to immediately improve the quality to a level comparabel with Kalamazoo's best just as this example shows us.



















 Comins
 D'Angelico
 Fender
 Gibson
 Heritage
 Various
 Zubehör
 Amps
 Gallery
 Feedback  | Links  | zurück | home | Kontakt |

...... D'Angelico - Gibson - Fender - Comins - Martin - Heritage - D'Aquisto ......

 Gibson Johnny Smith
   

25-jähriges Jubiläum

Klick auf Bilder

Anmerkungen: 1961 besuchte Ted McCarty, damals Präsident von Gibson, Johnny Smith und schlug ihm vor sein eigenes Modell zu entwerfen. Er ließ ihm freie Hand für die gesamte Konstruktion und das Design. Johnny Smith legte alle Maße fest, welche die Gitarre haben sollte und sogar die Wölbung der Decke und selbst die Einfassung wurden von ihm vorgegeben. Während manche seiner Innovationen revolutionär waren, sind einige evolutionär gewesen. Er führte die 25" Mensur ein, um schwierige Akkorde zu erleichtern ohne eine schnelle Ansprache zu opfern und die Tiefe des Korpus wurde auf 3" reduziert. Zudem wurde die Gitarre mit dem ersten schwebenden Doppelspul - Tonabnehmer bestückt und einige optische Merkmale wurden von Gibson's Top Modellen übernommen. Der 17" Korpus ist von der L-5C, Hals und Kopfplatte von der Super 400. Zum 25. Produktionsjahr hat Gibson das Modell leicht überarbeitet und nur einige wenige als Jubiläumsmodell hergestellt. Zu den wichtigsten Änderungen gehört die besondere Saitenhalterung mit einzelnen Feinstimmer und der Kabel Anschluss wurde zur Gurthalterung an der Zarge verlegt.

Materialien: 17" breiter und 3" tiefer Korpus mit handgeschnitzter, massiver Fichtendecke, extrem geflammter Ahorn Hals und Boden, Zargen aus massivem Ahorn, Ebenholz Griffbrett mit geradem Ende und mit 14/20 Bünden, Sattelbreite 43mm, Mensur 63,5cm, Perlmutt Einlagen am Griffbrett und Kopfplatte, "25th Anniversary" Perlmutt Einlage am 19. Bund, Einfassung 7-fach am Korpus, 5-fach an Hals und Schlagbrett, 3-fach an Kopfplatte, eingefasste f-Löcher, Knochensattel, massive Ebenholz Brücke und Grundplatte mit Perlmutteinlage.

Hardware: Original Johnny Smith Doppelspul Tonabnehmer und Lautstärke Regler, "Custom" Abdeckung für Halsstab, original Kluson Sealfast Mechaniken, 6-Finger Saitenhalter mit Feinstimmer.

Fakten: Die Serien Nr. 80696xxx auf dem Master Model Label datiert sie auf 1986 und gebaut wurde sie in Nashville, TN. Sie wurde vom Meister James W. Hutchins am 4. April 1986 signiert, einem Veteran der seit den 60er Jahren bei Gibson bis zu seiner Pensionierung arbeitete und die Fackel hochhielt, als in den schwierigen Zeiten nach der Schließung der Kalamazoo Fabrik 1984 das Schiff zu sinken drohte. "Hutch" war auch die Schlüsselfigur als Gibson den Custom Shop als eigene Abteilung 1993 etablierte.

Zustand: Die Gitarre ist komplett original und für das Alter von drei Jahrzehnten in einem ausgezeichnetem Zustand. Die tobacco sunburst Lackierung hat ebenso wie die originalen Bünde kaum Abnutzung. Die Vergoldung der Hardware weist nur minimalste Gebrauchsspuren auf. Die Mechaniken arbeiten exakt und leicht.

Bespielbarkeit: Die Saitenlage lässt sich sehr niedrig ohne ein Scheppern der Saiten einstellen. Der Hals fühlt sich angenehm glatt an und sie lässt sich "wie Butter" spielen, das Profil entspricht einem leichten D.

Ton: Voller, warmer und ausgewogener klarer Klang mit sehr schneller Ansprache. Jazz Ton pur.

Koffer: Original Gibson Luxus Hartschalen Koffer mit Echtleder und grünem Innenplüsch in Top Zustand. Alle Verschlüsse und Scharniere arbeiten einwandfrei.

Setup: Die Gitarre ist derzeit mit ungeschliffenen Thomastik Saiten bespannt (.012-054). Die Gitarre wurde überprüft, oktavrein eingestellt, Griffbrett wurde geölt.

Zusammenfassung: Vor 55 Jahren wurde die erste Gibson Johnny Smith hergestellt und diese 25 Jahre Jubiläumsausgabe ist schon deshalb eine historisch bedeutsame Gitarre, weil sie zu einem Zeitpunkt hergestellt wurde, als die Fa. Gibson an einem Wendepunkt angelangt war. Im Januar 1986 wurde Gibson von Norlin an die drei Enthusiasten Henry Juszkiewicz, David Berryman und Gary Zebrowski verkauft. Der Ruf der Firma Gibson war durch die Norlin Ära stark beschädigt worden. Deshalb ist das Jahr 1986 für Gibson historisch bedeutsam und nur durch die Rückbesinnung an traditionelle Qualitätsansprüche und die Verwendung allerbester Tonhölzer gelang es nicht nur das Vertrauen der Kunden zurück zu gewinnen sondern auch an die besten Zeiten in Kalamazoo wieder anzuknüpfen wie dieses Beispiel eindrucksvoll unter Beweis stellt.



















 Comins
 D'Angelico
 Fender
 Gibson
 Heritage
 Various
 Zubehör
 Amps
 Gallery
 Feedback  | Links  | zurück | home | Kontakt |