...... D'Angelico - Gibson - Fender - Comins - Martin - Heritage - D'Aquisto ......

 D'Angelico Excel EXL-1 Deluxe Production
   

First Fruits

Click on pictures

Notes: John D'Angelico opened his own shop at 40 Kenmare Street in New York City in 1932. He was making some archtops on request in the late 1920s but in earnest he began creating archtop guitars in his shop. Prior to that he had already worked with stringed instruments for several years including violins, mandolins (F-5 style) and archtop guitars very similiar to the Lloyd Loar L-5 but without the truss rod, as Gibson had a patent for that. His first instruments had no model name and in 1934 he established designations and some of them have lasted until this day. By 1936 the D'Angelico Ledger Book Nr.1 lists the basic model names: There was the Special model, the tenor guitars and style A, A-1 and style B models and they differed mainly in ornamentation to the more costly Excel model. Generally these models had a 17" body that actually varied from 16 3/8" to 17 5/8" so there was no intention of absolute precision regarding the sizes of the instruments. Additionally there was the New Yorker model, originally an 18-inch instrument and sometimes even larger. Starting in 1943, the New Yorker was also created as a 17" model and in 1946 style A and B were dropped. From the total number of 1164 original D'Angelico guitars the majority (more than 400) were Excel, and so the Excel became the best selling D'Angelico model ever.

Materials: 17" wide and 3" deep body with solid Spruce top, flamed Maple back and sides, three-piece Maple neck, straight-end Ebony fretboard, nut width 1 11/16", scale lenghth 25.5", 22 silver-nickel frets with Abalone fretboard inlays, Abalone body binding, solid Ebony bridge and base plate with rectangular Abalone inlays, Abalone diamond inlay on backside of headstock, mother of pearl Excel motif.

Hardware: Gold plated Kent Armstrong floating minibucker, volume & tone controls pickguard mounted, polished brass hinged D'Angelico stairstep tailpiece, gold-plated Grover Imperial tuners, stairstep truss rod cover.

Facts: Highest craftsmanship and technology are being used to make Excels satisfy the demands of contemporary players and the Deluxe Production shines with the overall Abalone trim. This guitar is n° 5 of the original limited run of 200 confirmed by Certificate.

Condition: New

Playability: The feel of the c-shaped neck is fast and smooth.

Tone: Complex and resonant - either at home, in the studio or at a gig.

Color options: Available color: Amber (pictured on the right side)

Case: Original case included.

Setup: This instrument is strung with flat wound strings (.012-.054).

To Summarize: Much like John D'Angelico's original work-of-art this sleek, eye catching EXL-1DP is equally as effective at your home studio or on stage. Too good for just hanging in your show-case. Grab it ... it's the last EXL-1DP of the limited run.

















 Comins
 D'Angelico
 Fender
 Gibson
 Heritage
 Various
 Zubehör
 Amps
 Gallery
 Feedback  | Links  | zurück | home | Kontakt |

...... D'Angelico - Gibson - Fender - Comins - Martin - Heritage - D'Aquisto ......

 D'Angelico Excel EXL-1 Deluxe Production
   

Erste Früchte

Klick auf Bilder

Anmerkungen: John D'Angelico eröffnete sein eigenes Geschäft in der Kenmare Street Nr.40 in New York City im Jahr 1932. Er machte einige Archtops auf Anfrage in den späten 1920er Jahren, jedoch richtig eifrig begann er mit der Kreation von Archtop Gitarren erst in seinem Laden. Zuvor hatte er bereits mit Saiteninstrumenten mehrere Jahren gearbeitet u.a. mit Geigen, Mandolinen (F-5-Stil) und Archtop Gitarren die der Lloyd Loar L-5 sehr ähnelten jedoch ohne Halsstab waren, da Gibson ein Patent dafür hatte. Seine ersten Instrumente hatten keine Modellbezeichnung aber ab 1934 etablierte er Bezeichnungen und einige der Namen haben sich bis heute gehalten. Ab 1936 wurden in D'Angelico's erstem Notizbuch die Modell Namen erwähnt: Das Modell "Special", die Tenor Gitarren und Stil A, A-1 und Stil B-Modelle, welche sich vor allem in der Ornamentik von den teureren Excel unterschieden. Generell hatten diese Modelle einen 17" Korpus, die zwischen 16 8/3" bis 17 8/5" variiert haben, denn es gab keine Absicht absolute Präzision in Bezug auf die Größe der Instrumente zu erzielen. Zusätzlich gab es das New Yorker Modell, ursprünglich eine 18 Zoll Gitarre die manchmal sogar noch größer ausfiel. Ab 1943 wurde die New Yorker auch als 17" Modell hergestellt und im Jahr 1946 wurden Stil A und B eingestellt. Von der Gesamtzahl von 1164 original D'Angelico Gitarren waren die Mehrheit (über 400 Stück) Excel Gitarren und somit wurde die Excel die meist verkaufte D'Angelico Gitarre.

Materialien: 17" breiter und 3" tiefer Korpus mit massiver Fichtendecke, geflammter Ahorn Boden und Zargen, dreiteiligen Ahornhals, Ebony Griffbrett, Sattelbreite 43mm, Mensur 65cm, 22 Silber-Nickel Bünde, Abalone Einlagen am Griffbrett und Korpus, massive Ebenholz Brücke und Grundplatte mit Abalon Einlage, Diamant Einlage aus Abalone an Rückseite der Kopfplatte, Excel Motif aus Perlmutt.

Hardware: Vergoldeter, schwebender Kent Armstrong Tonabnehmer, Volumen und Tonregler auf Schlagbrett montiert, vergoldeter stufenförmiger D'Angelico Saitenhalter aus poliertem Messing, Grover Imperial Mechaniken, stufenförmige Halsstab Abdeckung.

Fakten: Höchste Handwerkskunst und Techniken werden zur Herstellung der Excel verwendet und die EXL-1DP glänzt mit ihren reichlichen Abalone Verzierungen. Diese Gitarre ist die Nr. 5 von den ursprünglich auf 200 limitierten Instrumenten und kommt mit Zertifikat.

Zustand: Neu

Bespielbarkeit: Das C-Profil des Halses gibt einem ein sehr flüssiges und glattes Spielgefühl.

Ton: Komplex und resonant - egal ob zu Hause, im Studio oder beim Gig.

Farboptionen: Amber (abgebildet auf der rechten Seite)

Koffer: Original Koffer inklusive.

Setup: Derzeit mit flatwound Saiten bezogen (.012-.054)

Zusammenfassung: Ganz nach Art von John D'Angelico ist diese EXL-1DP ein Augenschmaus, welche gleichsam effektiv in Ihrem Heimstudio oder auf der Bühne ist. Einfach zu schade nur für die Vitrine.

















 Comins
 D'Angelico
 Fender
 Gibson
 Heritage
 Various
 Zubehör
 Amps
 Gallery
 Feedback  | Links  | zurück | home | Kontakt |