...... D'Angelico - Gibson - Fender - Comins - Martin - Heritage - D'Aquisto ......

 1968 Gibson Super 400C tobacco sunburst
   

Par Excellence

 

Click to enlarge

Notes: Making its debut back in 1934, the Super 400 guitar has always been the pinnacle of Gibson's guitar line. In 1939, after several changes, the first Super 400 with a cutaway design called Super 400 Premiere was introduced offering access to the entire fretboard! Further changes have been made in the course of time and the postwar cutaway acoustic was then called Super 400C (cutaway). Until today, the Super 400C remained the top-of-the-line model and very few are produced in relation to the Super 400 CES. The limited availability of suitable spruce tops and curly maple that are large and beautiful enough make them so rare and sought after.

Materials: 18“ wide body with handcarved bookmatched close-grained parallel braced solid Sitka Spruce top, solid carved highly figured curly Maple back with matching rims, highly figured solid five-piece tiger flamed maple neck with two slender Mahogany stripes, pointed-end ebony fretboard, nut width 1 9/16“, 20 original frets, pearl single and double split-block position markers, split diamond peghead inlay, 7-ply body binding, 5-ply neck head and pickguard binding, triple bound f-holes, polished bone nut, adjustable solid rosewood bridge.

Hardware: Exclusive Super 400 tailpiece with Y-shaped center section and model name engraved on cross-piece, original Super 400 “Custom“ engraved truss rod cover, Kluson sealfast tuners.

Facts: Built in the Kalamazoo plant back in 1968. It has the orange “Union Made“ label, and the serial number 895XXX on it matches the number on the headstock. It is one of just 24 Super 400C made in its model year, and this guitar is far rare than the electric CES.

Condition: The original unfaded two-tone tobacco sunburst finish is in outstanding condition with only very few marks. The original frets have plenty of life left. The golden tailpiece shines as bright as on day one. Absolute collector's condition. The tuners work smooth, no bent shafts. The entire binding is original and tight to the body.

Playability: Action is smooth and low over the original frets. The straight neck has an effortless feel with a fingerboard that glides smoothly through the palm. If you've been coveting the rich tone of a classic jazz box, but never wanted to wrestle with the big clunky neck, this one's for you. She practically plays herself with a sleek and exquisitely neck, tapering to a comfy gentle D profile.

Tone: The voice of this instrument is simply exceptional: clear, wide open and deeply resonant, with remarkable volume, and notably shimmering natural reverb in the treble register.

Case: Original deluxe Gibson Faultless hardshell case with yellow plush interior in outstanding condition either inside and outside. All latches, hinges and handle work fine. Even the key is still in the case pocket. A case from the 60ties in such perfect condition is definitely a rare find and proves how much this guitar was taken care of.

Setup: This instrument is currently strung with flatwound strings (.013-.054). The guitar will accommodate lighter gauge strings, according to your preference. The fingerboard and bridge has been cleaned and oiled.

To Summarize: Is there anything more excellent and more elegant than a Gibson Super 400C from the 60's ? This gleaming example is one of 24 made in '68, and has been preserved in stunning condition, with all original finish, no cracks or buckle rash, and very little playing wear overall. This rare beauty combines tone, looks and playability in one outstanding package. She's substantially as she left the Kalamazoo plant almost five decades ago, right down to her original black Gibson hardshell case with the yellow plush lining in mint condition.
 



















 Comins
 D'Angelico
 Fender
 Gibson
 Heritage
 Various
 Zubehör
 Amps
 Gallery
 Feedback  | Links  | zurück | home | Kontakt |

...... D'Angelico - Gibson - Fender - Comins - Martin - Heritage - D'Aquisto ......

 1968 Gibson Super 400C tobacco sunburst
   

Par Excellence

 

Click to enlarge

Anmerkung: Seit ihrem Debüt 1934 gilt die Super 400 als das Spitzenmodell der Gibson Gitarren. Nach einigen Änderungen wurde 1939 die erste Super 400 mit Korpusausschnitt als Super 400 Premiere vorgestellt, die eine Bespielbarkeit des gesamten Griffbrett ermöglichte! Weitere Änderungen wurden im Laufe der Zeit vorgenommen und der Name wurde später in Super 400C umbenannt. Sie wurde immer in verschwindend geringer Anzahl produziert, denn die Menge an Fichte und Riegelahorn mit entsprechender Qualität, Grösse und Schönheit war begrenzt und genau das macht sie heute so rar.

Materialien: 18“ Korpus mit handgeschnitzter, eng gemaserter, parallel verbalkter, massiver Sitka Fichte; massiver Boden und Zargen aus geflammtem Riegelahorn, stark geflammter, dreiteiliger Ahorn Hals mit zwei dünnen Streifen aus Mahagonie, spitz zulaufendes Ebenholz Griffbrett, Sattelbreite 40mm, 20 Bünde, Perlmutt Positionseinlagen, Einlagen in Diamantform an Vorder- und Rückseite der Kopfplatte, Einfassung 7-fach an Korpus, 5-fach an Hals, Kopf und Pickguard, 3-fach an F-Löcher, polierter Knochensattel, justierbare Palisander Brücke.

Hardware: Exclusiver Super 400 Saitenhalter mit Y-geformtem Mittenteil, Modell Name eingraviert am Querteil, original Super 400 “Custom“ eingravierte Kunststoffabdeckung, Kluson sealfast Mechaniken.

Fakten: Hergestellt in der Kalamazoo Fabrik im Jahr 1968. Sie hat das orange “Union Made“ Label, und die Serien Nummer 895XXX darauf stimmt mit der Nummer der Kopfplatte überein. Sie ist eine von nur 24 Super 400C, welche in dem Jahr hergestellt wurden und sie ist wesentlich seltener anzutreffen, als die elektrische Super 400CES.

Zustand: Die originale tobacco sunburst Lackierung ist unverblasst und in herausragendem Zustand mit wenigen geringfügigen Gebrauchsspuren. Die original Bundierung hat noch genügend Reserven. Der goldene Saitenhalter glänzt wie am ersten Tag, absoluter Sammler Zustand. Die Mechaniken arbeiten sauber und haben keine verbogenen Wirbel. Das original Binding liegt eng am Korpus an.

Bespielbarkeit: Die Saitenlage ist niedrig über den original Bünden und der gerade Hals hat ein Spielgefühl ohne jegliche Anstrengung mit einem Griffbrett, welches sanft durch die Handfläche gleitet. Sie spielt sich fast von selbst mit ihrem elegantem und exquisitem Hals, der am Sattel nicht so klobig ist und sich nach oben hin immer mehr zu einem D-Profil ausdehnt.

Ton: Der Klang ist aussergewöhnlich klar, weit und offen und sehr resonant, mit erstaunlichem Volumen und einem beachtenswerten natürlichen Hall in den höheren Lagen.

Koffer: Originaler deluxe Gibson Faultless hardshell Koffer mit gelbem Plüsch in herausragendem Zustand sowohl innen wie auch aussen. Alle Scharniere, Verschlüsse und der Griff funktionieren einwandfrei. Sogar der Schlüssel ist noch im Fach vorhanden. Ein 60er Jahre Koffer in so einem perfektem Zustand ist echt schwer zu finden und beweist letzlich auch, wie sehr das Instrument gepflegt und behütet wurde.

Setup: Die Gitarre ist derzeit mit ungeschliffenen Saiten bespannt (.013-.054). Sie verträgt andere Saitenstärken, je nach bevorzugter Wahl. Das Griffbrett und die Brücke wurden gereinigt und geölt.

Zusammenfassung: Gibt es etwas excellenteres und eleganteres als eine Gibson Super 400C aus den 60er Jahren? Dieses glänzende Beispiel ist eine von 24 sunburst aus dem Jahr 1968, welche in erstaunlich gutem original Zustand mit nur geringen Spielspuren ohne Risse etc. erhalten wurde. Diese seltene Schönheit vereint gereiften Klang mit großartigem Aussehen und toller Bespielbarkeit und der phantastische original Zustand runden das hervorragende Paket ab. Sie ist im Wesentlichen so wie sie die Fabrik vor fast fünf Jahrzehnten verlassen hat einschliesslich ihres original Koffers in tadellosem Zustand.
 



















 Comins
 D'Angelico
 Fender
 Gibson
 Heritage
 Various
 Zubehör
 Amps
 Gallery
 Feedback  | Links  | zurück | home | Kontakt |