...... D'Angelico - Gibson - Fender - Comins - Martin - Heritage - D'Aquisto ......

 Gibson Super 400C natural from 1962
   

The Golden Era

 

Click to enlarge

Notes: Making its debut back in 1934, the Super 400 is the pinnacle of Gibson's guitar line, the largest and most expensive production guitar of its era. In 1939, after several changes, the first Super 400 with a cutaway design called Super 400 Premiere was introduced. It was later renamed Super 400C and it has always been built in vanishingly small numbers. Top players like jazz wizard Kenny Burrell or picking pioneer Merle Travis prefered the Super 400 and today it is still in high demand by players and collectors alike for their clear open tone and great response.

Materials: 18" wide Venetian cutaway body with handcarved bookmatched fine grained solid spruce top, highly figured solid two-piece tiger flamed maple neck with Mahogany center stripe, flamed solid Maple back, highly flamed Maple sides, pointed-end ebony fretboard, nut width 1 11/16", 20 frets, pearl single and double split-block position markers, split diamond MOP inlay on front and back of headstock, 7-ply body binding, 5-ply for neck, head and pickguard, triple bound f-holes, polished bone nut, compensated rosewood bridge.

Hardware: Gold art deco trapeze tailpiece with Y-shaped center section and model name engraved on cross-piece, original Super 400 truss rod cover, quintuple-bound mottled pickguard, gold pickguard support bracket, Kluson sealfast tuners.

Facts: Built in early 1962, this Super 400C comes from Gibson's real golden era of production and it is one of just 5 blonde examples produced in '62. The orange label is intact and clearly legible. Its 5-digit serial number 49XXX matches the number on the back of the headstock. It is one of the very last examples with a two-piece Maple neck and a Mahogany stripe in the center and the old-style headstock shape. In the middle of '62 this has changed to a three-piece Maple neck with two stripes between them. As a special feature it sports a factory original black stinger at the heel of the neck. This was only occasionaly made on blonde Gibson archtops made during the 50ties and 60ties (see also Thomas Van Hoose book "The Gibson Super 400" on page 62 and page 73).

Condition: Well maintained, the guitar is still in very good condition after all these years. It has been played a lot and that is why a refret was necessary at some point. This job was done perfectly and the frets have plenty of life left. The finish has a few marks here and there mostly on the top and the rims, the back of the body is pretty clean. The neck shows some playing wear between frets 1-3. The hardware and finish is completely original. There is an additional golden strap button at the heel of the neck. The truss rod and the tuners work smooth, no bent shafts, original buttons. The entire binding is original and tight to the body.

Playability: The neck has a particularly sleek, effortless feel, with a fine slim D profile, and a solid ebony fingerboard that glides smoothly under the fingers over immaculate medium jumbo frets. It is like you don't hold and play this instrument, you embrace it.

Tone: The voice is open and yet clear, with cutting treble, silky mids and big bass with excellent projection and the buttery warmth of tonewood aged over half a century. Wonderfully balanced, the response is even across the entire fingerboard, ideal for warm comping or brilliant solos alike. There isn't an acoustic realm that this instrument could not handle well.

Case: Original black vinyl Lifton hardshell case with orange plush interior and Gibson plaque in great condition. The original handle has been strengthened at the upper hinge and is now even more stable than ever before. All latches, hinges and handle work fine.

Setup: This instrument is strung with round wound strings (.013-.054). The guitar will accommodate lighter gauge strings, according to your preference. The entire guitar is inspected, fingerboard and bridge oiled, body and neck cleaned and hand polished.

To Summarize: Until today, the Super 400C is still marketed as the top-of-the-line model and very few are produced in relation to the Super 400 CES. The limited availability of suitable spruce tops and curly maple that are large and beautiful enough make them so sought after. This blonde beauty from Gibson's hey-days is an awesome instrument of surpassing elegance, playability and versatility, with the potential of being a great investment opportunity which we are pleased to offer to one fortunate player.
 





















 Comins
 D'Angelico
 Fender
 Gibson
 Heritage
 Various
 Zubehör
 Amps
 Gallery
 Feedback  | Links  | zurück | home | Kontakt |

...... D'Angelico - Gibson - Fender - Comins - Martin - Heritage - D'Aquisto ......

 Gibson Super 400C natur von 1962
   

Das Goldene Zeitalter

 

Klick auf Bilder

Anmerkung: Seit ihrem Debüt im Jahr 1934 ist die Super 400 der Inbegriff von Gibson's Gitarren Modellen und zugleich die größte und teuerste Gitarre aus dieser Zeit. Nach verschiedenen Änderungen wurde 1939 die erste Super 400 mit einem Cutaway Design namens Super 400 Premiere vorgestellt. Später wurde sie umbenannt in Super 400C und sie wurde immer in verschwindend kleiner Anzahl produziert. Top Spieler wie Jazz Virtuose Kenny Burrell und viele andere bevorzugten die Super 400 und bis heute gibt es immer noch eine hohe Nachfrage von Spielern und Sammlern wegen ihres offenen Ton und der direkten Ansprache.

Materialien: 18" breiter Korpus mit runden cutaway und handgemachter, massiver Decke aus eng gemaserter Fichte, stark geflammter, zweiteiliger Ahorn Hals mit Mittelstreifen aus Mahagonie, massiver Boden und Zargen aus geflammtem Ahorn, spitz zulaufendes Ebenholz Griffbrett, Sattelbreite ca. 43mm, 20 Bünde, Perlmutt Positionseinlagen, Einlagen in Diamantform an Vorder- und Rückseite der Kopfplatte, Einfassung 7-fach an Korpus, 5-fach an Hals, Kopf, Pickguard, 3-fach an F-Löcher, Knochensattel, kompensierte Palisander Brücke.

Hardware: Saitenhalter mit eingraviertem Modell Namen, original Super 400 Abdeckung an Kopfplatte, "marmoriertes" Schlagbrett, geschlossene Kluson Mechaniken.

Fakten: Diese Super 400C von Anfang 1962 ist noch aus Gibson's wahrem goldenen Zeitalter und sie ist eine von nur 5 blonden aus dem Jahr '62. Das orange Label ist gut erhalten und deutlich lesbar. Die 5-stellige Seriennummer 49XXX vom Label stimmt mit der Nummer auf der Rückseite der Kopfplatte überein. Sie ist eine der letzten Super 400 mit einem zwei-teiligen Ahorn Hals und einem Mahagonie Streifen in der Mitte mit der alten Kopfplatten Form. Ab Mitte '62 wurden drei-teilige Ahorn Hälse mit zwei Streifen Mahagonie verwendet. Der Halsansatz wurde ab Werk schwarz lackiert. Dies wurde so nur bei manchen blonden Gibson Archtops aus den 50iger und 60ger Jahren gemacht (vgl. Thomas Van Hoose Buch "The Gibson Super 400" auf Seite 62 und 73).

Zustand: Die Gitarre ist in einem gepflegtem, sehr gutem Zustand nach all den Jahren. Sie wurde viel gespielt und deswegen war eine Neubundierung einmal notwendig geworden. Dies wurde perfekt ausgeführt und die Bünde haben noch eine Menge Reserven. Die Decke und Zargen haben ein paar kleinere dings und dongs hier und da aber nichts Dramatisches und die Rückseite ist ziemlich gut erhalten. Der originale Lack weist auf der Halsrückseite ein wenig Abrieb zwischen den ersten drei Bünden auf. Die Lackierung und Hardware ist komplett original. Ein zusätzlicher goldenen Gurt Knopf wurde am Halsfuss montiert. Der Halsstab und die Tuner arbeiten sauber, die Wirbel sind original und nicht verbogen. Die gesamte Einfassung ist original und dicht am Korpus.

Bespielbarkeit: Der Hals hat ein ausgeprägtes D-Profil und das solide Ebenholzgriffbrett gleitet sanft unter den Fingern hinweg. Die Gitarre fühlt sich an als ob man sie nicht nur hält und spielt sondern eher umarmt.

Ton: Der Klang ist offen und klar, mit durchdringenden Höhen, weichen Mitten und einem Bass mit enormer Projektion und einer sanften Wärme, welcher Klanghölzer von mehr als einem halben Jahrhundert eigen ist. Klanglich gibt es keinen Bereich, den diese Gitarre nicht gut abdeckt. Sehr schnelle Ansprache über das gesamte Griffbrett, ideal für brilliante Soli oder Begleitung gleichermaßen.

Koffer: Originaler schwarzer Vinyl Lifton Koffer mit orangem Plüsch innen und Gibson Schild aussen in sehr gutem Zustand. Der originale Griff wurde an einer Stelle verstärkt und ist jetzt stabiler als je zuvor. Sämtliche Verschlüsse, Scharniere und der Griff arbeiten einwandfrei.

Setup: Die Gitarre ist derzeit mit geschliffenen Saiten bespannt (.013-.054). Sie verträgt andere Saitenstärken, je nach bevorzugter Wahl. Die Gitarre wurde komplett durchgecheckt, wo nötig gereinigt und handpoliert, das Griffbrett und die Brücke wurden geölt.

Zusammenfassung: Bis zum heutigen Tag wird die akustische Super 400C als Spitzenmodell vermarktet und nur sehr wenige werden im Verhältnis zur elektrischen Version hergestellt. Die begrenzte Verfügbarkeit von Tonholz mit entsprechender Grösse, Schönheit und Qualität machen sie so gefragt und der daraus resultierende Ton so begehrt. Diese einmalige Schönheit stammt noch aus der Blütezeit von Gibson. Kein Zweifel, sie ist ein respektables Instrument von überdauernder Eleganz und Bespielbarkeit mit einer sehr guten Wertentwicklungsmöglichkeit
 





















 Comins
 D'Angelico
 Fender
 Gibson
 Heritage
 Various
 Zubehör
 Amps
 Gallery
 Feedback  | Links  | zurück | home | Kontakt |